Managing Stress

Image

We all have those days, or weeks, that just don’t work out the way we want them to. Just when you think nothing else can go wrong… it does. On top of feeling stressed about the way things are going in your life and trying to juggle everything on your own, you have people telling you that “everything is going to be okay”. I say that to my friends and family members when they are stressed, too. However, sometimes you just need to let it out and just have someone by your side to listen. For me, hearing that everything is going to work out helps in some situations, but sometimes it just makes me feel worse.

This week was definitely one of the most stressful I’ve had in a while and it all started on Monday. I found out on Monday that my living situation for this summer was no longer going to work out. I don’t want to give too many details away for the sake of others involved, but I can tell you that it was a lot of girl drama that I am not used to dealing with. It was very stressful and caused a lot of hurt feelings for myself and my close friend. After talking it out and trying to find a solution to the problem we finally decided on something we all agreed on.

Even though we agreed on something I still wasn’t excited for summer anymore, because I would be moving back home until I found a job. There isn’t anything wrong with moving home, but I live in the country and everyone I know doesn’t live in our hometown anymore. So, when I thought I could live in Marshall (my college town) I was pretty excited and felt good about the upcoming months. However, when all of that came crashing down it just seemed like nothing was going to work out and be good.

On top of that, the rest of week seemed to go down hill day by day. However, I made it to Friday and after researching some ways to manage stress levels I have been trying out a few things and I have my positive outlook on life back again! I looked at the ways that I had always dealt with stress and decided it was time to find some news ways to cope with it. I found a link explaining stress management strategies and how to deal with stress in a healthier way. The link is listed below:

http://www.helpguide.org/mental/stress_management_relief_coping.htm

I am getting things done and although it’s only been a couple days I feel happier now that the week is done and I can start a new one! I am getting everything done one step at a time and I know that everything will fall into place in due time. The important thing is keeping a positive attitude. 🙂

Leave a comment